Research Directions


(A) Color and illumination technologies (B) Artificial intelligence applications

 

(B) Artificial intelligence applications


 

1. Intelligent healthcare

Pupil size prediction techniques based on convolution neural network

The pupil size or changing speed can indicate both one’s physical condition and mental state. If the pupil contraction or pupil reaction rate is abnormal, it may mean some symptoms such as glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, general anesthesia, or Horner syndrome. On the other hand, the dilation of the pupil may be stimulated by mental conditions, for example, excitement and pleasure, whereas the contraction of the pupil may be caused by stress, discomfort, and so on. This paper proposes an algorithm that can calculate the pupil size based on Convolution Neural Network (CNN). Usually, the shape of the pupil is not round, and 50% of pupils can be calculated using ellipses for the best fitting. This paper uses the major and minor axis of an ellipse to represent the size of pupils and use the two parameters as the output of network. Regarding the input of network, the data set is from videos (continuous frames). If taking each frame from the videos and using these to train the CNN model, it may cause overfitting because the images are too similar. To avoid this problem, this paper uses data augmentation and calculates the structural similarity to ensure that the images have a certain degree of difference. For optimizing the structure of network, this paper compares the mean error with changing the depth of the network and the field of view (FOV) of the convolution filter. The result shows that both deepening the network and widening the FOV of the convolution filter can reduce the mean error. According to the results, the mean error of the pupil length is 7.63% and the pupil area is 14.68%. It can operate in low-cost mobile embedded systems at 36 frames per second, so the low-cost systems can be used for pupil size prediction.

 

2. Intelligent agriculture

Improvement of the accuracy of deep Learning in small object detection through data augmentation: bird detection as an example

We dedicated on developing auto bird-detection system based on artificial intelligence. The detection system additionally equips laser for driving away wild birds to stop transmission of virus and to prevent avian influenza. Our target is small-object detection and we utilized data augmentation, curriculum learning and hard negative mining methods and try to improve the performance particularly for small birds. In our study, we verified in the same environment by using several strategies. After collecting massive bird data, we carried out an AI-laser system and performed in real environment.

 

3. Intelligent engineering

Intelligent texture generation

This research is based on the generative model which using deep learning framework. The applications of this technique can be involved in furniture, tile, wallpaper, Interior decoration, and other industries. The proposed method uses specific texture samples to automatically generate textures that are visually similar to the original samples, but with variation and randomness. The system structure is shown in Figure 1 (a), which includes a VAE (Variational autoencoder) and a GAN (Generative adversarial nets). The task of VAE is generating rough textures, on the other way, GAN is adding high frequency detail on the rough texture which generated by VAE. We constructed the VAE by using residual connections and batch normalization layers to accelerate training and improve image quality, and the design of GAN is based on WGAN-GP.

Figure 1 System structure

 
The training flow is shown in Figure 1 (a). Two types of image are generated by VAE, one is the “reconstructed image” (marked with a red frame in the figure), obtained by passing an original sample through the decoder and encoder; another is “generated image” (marked with a yellow frame in the figure), which is obtained by directly using decoder to decompress a random tensor sampled from Gaussian distribution. For the both types of image, we input they into the G (Generative network) to get the detailed results, and then input the results into the D (Discriminative network) to get the scores of these images and then use them to calculate the “adversarial loss”. In addition, the detailed result and original sample of reconstructed image are input into the trained VGG19 (A classical CNNs model) to get their feature maps, and then calculate the “reconstruction loss” by using L2 distance of these two feature maps. The process of inference stage is shown in Figure 1 (b). A detailed generated texture can be obtained only by passing a random tensor through the decoder and G.

Figure 2 shows the training samples (top) and the randomly generated images (bottom). It shows the performance of texture generation of wood and stone. This system can learn the multi-scale characteristics from texture samples and use them to generate highly simulated textures. Although the results cannot be as detailed as the original samples, this system still has a certain level and potential.

Figure 2 Training samples and the generated results

 

Intelligent display

The Inverse Tone-Mapping Operator (ITMO) can extend the dynamic range of standard dynamic range (SDR) images to high dynamic range (HDR), helping the majority of SDR images to be converted into HDR images, thereby exerting the performance of HDR displays and improving image quality. However, several existing ITMOs are designed based on different concepts or purposes, and different image content may be suitable for different ITMOs.

Therefore, this study attempted to create an optimal ITMO prediction system based on supervised learning, the system was trained by artificial intelligence (AI) algorithms which are good at image content analysis. In this research, 8 types of ITMO were evaluated psychophysically through a best image labeling experiment and a categorical judgment experiment. 6 types of machine learning methods (SVM, MLP, KNN, etc.) and 5 types of CNN network architectures (VGG16, ResNet-50, etc.) were tested for the prediction system. The results show that the AlexNet model trained on grayscale images can accurately predict the optimal ITMO.


 

Prediction technique of aberration coefficients of interference fringes and phase diagrams based on convolutional neural network

In this study, we present a new way to predict the Zernike coefficients of optical system. We predict the Zernike coefficients through the function of image recognition in the neural network. It can reduce the mathematical operations commonly used in the interferometers and improve the measurement accuracy. We use the phase difference and the interference fringe as the input of the neural network to predict the coefficients respectively and compare the effects of the two models. In this study, python and optical simulation software are used to confirm the overall effect. As a result, all the Root-Mean-Square-Error (RMSE) are less than 0.09, which means that the interference fringes or the phase difference can be directly converted into coefficients. Not only can the calculation steps be reduced, but the overall efficiency can be improved and the calculation time reduced. For example, we could use it to check the performance of camera lenses.

Comments are closed.

研究方向


甲組:色彩與照明科技領域 乙組:人工智慧應用領域

 

乙組:人工智慧應用領域


 

1. 智慧醫療

基於卷積神經網絡的瞳孔尺寸預測技術

瞳孔的大小或變化的速度可以同時表明其身體狀況和精神狀態。如果瞳孔收縮或瞳孔反應速率異常,則可能意味著一些症狀,例如青光眼、糖尿病性視網膜病、全身麻醉或霍納綜合症。另一方面,瞳孔的擴張可能受到精神條件的刺激,例如興奮和愉悅,而瞳孔的收縮可能是由於壓力、不適等引起的。本研究提出了一種基於卷積神經網絡(CNN)的可計算瞳孔大小的算法。通常,瞳孔的形狀不是圓形的,約50%的瞳孔可以使用橢圓計算獲得最佳擬合效果。本研究使用橢圓的長軸和短軸來表示瞳孔的大小,並將這兩個參數用作網絡的輸出。關於網絡的輸入,數據集來自視頻(連續幀)。如果從視頻中獲取每一幀並使用它們來訓練CNN模型,則可能會因為圖像太相似而導致過度擬合。為了避免這個問題,本研究使用數據擴充以及計算結構相似度以確保圖像具有一定程度的差異。為了優化網絡結構,本研究使用平均誤差對更改網絡深度和卷積濾波器的視場(FOV)進行了比較。結果表明,加深網絡和加寬卷積濾波器的FOV都可以減小平均誤差。根據結果,瞳孔長度的平均誤差為7.63%,瞳孔面積為14.68%。它可以在每秒36幀的低成本移動嵌入式系統中運行,因此可以將低成本系統用於瞳孔大小預測。

 

2. 智慧農業

以數據增強法改善深度學習於小物件偵測之正確性:以鳥類偵測為例

實驗室發展AI自動偵測野鳥技術,整合於飼養場域中並搭配雷射裝置用於驅趕野鳥,以此預防家禽感染禽流感。演算法基於小物件偵測數據增強法、課程學習、困難反例探勘方法進行改良,並改善模型辨識小物件的準確度。於研究中,我們驗證不同方法對相同模型的辨識準確度之改進效果。本研究以鳥類偵測為例,在大量收集鳥類數據後進行驗證,並於實際場域中實現軟硬體設備。

 

3. 智慧工程

智慧圖紋

本研究基於深度生成網路開發了適用於傢俱、磁磚等產業的圖紋擴增技術。該架構透過學習特定的紋理樣本,來達到自動化生成與原樣本具有視覺相似,但帶有變異及隨機性的紋理。本研究架構如圖1-(a)所示,包含了一個VAE (variational autoencoder)網路與一個GAN(Generative adversarial nets)網路:前者生成粗略紋理,加入了殘差結構(Residual connection)以及批次正規化層(Batch normalization)來加速訓練與提升影像品質。後者以WGAN-GP生成紋理細節。

圖1 系統架構

 

訓練流程如圖1-(a) 所示,由VAE產生兩種影像,一種是經編碼器壓縮、解碼器解壓縮後得到的「重建影像」 (圖中以紅色外框標示);另一種是一符合高斯分佈的隨機張量直接經過解碼器解壓縮所生成的「生成影像」(圖中以黃色外框標示)。對於生成影像,我們將其輸入生成網路來得到細節化的成果,再將該成果輸入判別網路計算損失。而對於重建影像,除了上述的損失,還額外將細節化的成果與原始樣本輸入已訓練好的經典模型VGG19,計算兩者於特徵空間中的差異。實際應用流程如圖1- (b) 所示,僅須透過輸入隨機張量,經由VAE的解碼器與GAN的生成網路,便能夠得到具備高細節的生成影像。

圖2展示了訓練影像(上)與隨機生成的影像(下),可以看到在木紋以及石紋的生成表現,該系統能夠學習各尺度的特徵並用於重構影像產生高仿真的影像。雖然在細節部分無法達到與訓練樣本一樣的細緻,但仍具備了一定的水準及潛力。

圖2 訓練影像與生成影像

 

智慧顯示

逆色調映射器(Inverse Tone-Mapping Operator, ITMO)能夠將SDR影像的動態範圍擴展至高動態範圍(HDR),幫助佔絕對多數的SDR影像轉換成HDR影像,進而發揮HDR顯示器的性能,提升影像品質。不過現有的數種ITMO是基於不同的理念或目的設計的,不同的影像內容可能分別適用不同的ITMO,因此本研究嘗試結合善於處理影像內容分析的AI技術,建構一套基於監督式學習的最適ITMO預測系統。本研究透過最佳影像標記與等級評價人因實驗,評估8種ITMO,使用6種機械學習方法(SVM, MLP, KNN等)、5種CNN網路架構(VGG16, ResNet-50等)在不同參數下預測最適ITMO的準確度。結果顯示灰度影像訓練的AlexNet模型能準確預測最適逆色調映射器。


 

基於卷積神經網絡的干涉條紋和相位圖像差係數預測技術

在這項研究中,我們提出了一種預測光學系統的Zernike係數的新方法。我們通過神經網絡中的圖像識別功能預測Zernike係數。它可以減少干涉儀中常用的數學運算並提高測量精度。我們使用相位圖和干涉條紋作為神經網絡的輸入,分別預測係數並比較兩個模型的效果。在這項研究中,使用python和光學仿真軟件來確認整體效果。結果顯示,所有的均方根誤差(RMSE)都小於0.09,這意味著可以將干涉條紋或相位圖直接轉換為係數。 不僅可以減少計算步驟,而且可以提高整體效率並減少計算時間。例如,我們可以使用它來檢查相機鏡頭的性能。

Comments are closed.